About the European EMTP users group (EEUG)

“European EMTP-ATP Users Group e.V.” (EEUG e.V.) was established in 1994 as an Association registered at the local court Offenbach am Main, Germany. The purpose of the EEUG Association recognized as public-benefit organization by the tax office is to organize courses, meetings, publish a newsletter, to act as a communication centre for ATP-EMTP users, as well as to coordinate the program distribution. EEUG News, official newsletter of the Association, is published regularly. Besides technical papers, rubrics such as Reader’s Corner, Program Information, People and Profiles, Tips and Tricks are included in this newsletter. The constitutive meeting was held in 1994 in Hanover, Germany, where the foundation members accepted the Charter. The current Executive Board consists of the following elected members:

  • Chairman: Hans Kr. Høidalen, NTNU, Norway
  • Deputy chairman: Thomas Hunger, Hochschule Mannheim, Germany
  • Secretary: Delcho Penkov, Schneider-Electric, Grenoble, France
  • Treasurer: Gunter Lichtenberger, DNV, Dresden, Germany
  • Member: Andrea Mansoldo, DNV, Dubai
  • Member: Kostas Velikakis, Tennet, Neherlands
  • Member: Harald Wehrend, University of Applied Sciences Kiel, Germany

EEUG Charter.

Members receive free updates -included in the membership dues- of the ATP program and other related programs as well as of the ATP Rule Book each year. EEUG has supported until now the development of software PCPlot for Windows and ATP Control Centre running under MS Windows 9x/NT/2K/XP and available only for the members. EEUG has been supporting further development of ATPDraw and PlotXY. Another activity of the EEUG is the updating and conversion of the ATP Rule Book into electronic form, i. e. into Adobe Acrobat format (PDF files). The annual European EMTP-ATP Conference is comprised of the EEUG Meeting and one-day short course. The EEUG Meeting which consists generally of two parts; annual Members’ Meeting and technical sessions. The technical sessions and the Members’ Meeting are open to all licensed ATP-EMTP users, whereas only EEUG members are authorized to vote for decisions at the Members’ Meeting. An EEUG course accompanies the EEUG Meeting almost every year. Until now, following EEUG meetings and courses have been held by the EEUG Association: At present, the EEUG Association has about 200 members, which are composed of universities and companies in equal proportions. As explained in the paragraph § 2 “Purpose” of the Charter, the association will act primarily as a communication centre for its members. Any Institution that is willing to join the Association must have a valid license for the use of ATP-EMTP program. Licensing means the Applicant agrees with the licensing term by signing License agreement. The ATP-EMTP program is not a public domain software and it is available via password protected EEUG file server. Printed materials (Rule Book, Theory Book, User Manuals) can be ordered from EEUG by filling in the appropriate Order Forms. Anyone who got a license may subscribe to the ATP-EMTP Mailing List in Internet, connecting about 2000 ATP users all over the world. The mailing list as well as EEUG file server which enables licensed users to download ATP related materials are operated by the EEUG.